Commuting on Recumbent

Our Community Forums Commuters Commuting on Recumbent

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    cycleski
    Participant

Good morning, I am interested in hearing from commuters that ride recumbent bikes on good and bad aspects associated with traffic, logistics, etc.. I have commuted on upright bikes for nearly 20 years from Vienna to Arlington and DC. Considering a recumbent to improve comfort but not sure if it will be a solid idea as a commuting option. Thanks, John

josh
    Participant

I have no personal experience, but I know that bentbike33 rides (and commuted in the “before” days) on a recumbent. I’m not sure about Catedrew‘s commuting situation, but she rides a trike which I figure has some similarities to a typical recumbent. You could try sending then a PM if they don’t see this themselves.

bentbike33
    Participant

@cycleski 209924 wrote:

Good morning, I am interested in hearing from commuters that ride recumbent bikes on good and bad aspects associated with traffic, logistics, etc.. I have commuted on upright bikes for nearly 20 years from Vienna to Arlington and DC. Considering a recumbent to improve comfort but not sure if it will be a solid idea as a commuting option. Thanks, John

My normal commute is from the Falls Church side of Tysons to SW DC. I ride what’s called a “high racer” recumbent, 700c wheels, pedals ahead of the front wheel, hands out front. I have no trouble with traffic as my head is about level with car drivers, and the relative unusualness of a recumbent attracts attention. You do need to always remember to downshift before stopping to ensure a smooth takeoff, however. Climbing is slower, but descents and flats are faster. Sometimes the local bike trails can be a little rough, especially the MVT, as my bike has no suspension, but there are other ways to DC.