BTWD Buddy from Bethesda to Gaithersburg

Our Community Forums Bike to Work Day Archives Bike to Work Day 2016 BTWD Buddy from Bethesda to Gaithersburg

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    carut
    Participant

Hi! This is my first time participating in the BTWD (05/20), and I thought it would be even more fun with a biking buddy. I was thinking of going along Bethesda Trolley Trail, join 355, a pit stop in Rockville, and then resume on 355 (Rockville Pike)!

ian74
    Participant

Good for you! Congrats on biking to work, I would like to suggest you find an alternate route though. Riding from Rockville to Gaithersburgh completely on Rockville Pike is probably not a very good idea. It’s a heavy traffic road, with no bike lanes to speak of. Your only option would be to ride sidewalks, which is not a very good idea either.

I just searched with google maps and chose bicycle as mode of transportation, it suggested 2 routes. One by taking Rock Creek Trail to G’bugh, and the other by taking the Millennium trail. Here’s a link.
    I would love to ride with you, but unfortunately, my ride ends in Bethesda!

https://goo.gl/maps/MbDz5CNtSTM2

Also, some other forum regulars with more local riding experience can give you some suggestions as well! Good luck and have fun!

carut
    Participant

@ian74 139850 wrote:

Good for you! Congrats on biking to work, I would like to suggest you find an alternate route though. Riding from Rockville to Gaithersburgh completely on Rockville Pike is probably not a very good idea. It’s a heavy traffic road, with no bike lanes to speak of. Your only option would be to ride sidewalks, which is not a very good idea either.

I just searched with google maps and chose bicycle as mode of transportation, it suggested 2 routes. One by taking Rock Creek Trail to G’bugh, and the other by taking the Millennium trail. Here’s a link.
    I would love to ride with you, but unfortunately, my ride ends in Bethesda!