Bike to National Zoo on Rock Creek

Our Community Forums Family Biking Bike to National Zoo on Rock Creek

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Newbie_biker
    Participant

Hello,
    My family and I are coming down to DC next week for a short trip and hoping to explore the area on bikes. We have 2 children, ages 3 & 8. I am a pretty novice biker and have really only done off-road trails and my husband is comfortable on the roads. Our 3 year old is in a co-pilot with my husband and the 8 year old has done non-busy roads with my husband. I was looking into taking the Rock Creek trail up to the National Zoo from National Mall. We are staying at the InterContinental next to the White House. Here are some of my questions:

1) Should I be nervous for myself and my 8 year old riding around the streets of National Mall (from hotel to start of Rock Creek trail)?

2) Is Rock Creek trail busy during the weekday?

3) Is the Rock Creek ride from National Mall up to the zoo all off-road and not ride along cars?

4) If Rock Creek trail is not a good choice to ride for our family, any suggestions on which trail is better?

Many thanks for any advice or tips!

dasgeh
    Participant

@Newbie_biker 138508 wrote:

Hello,
    My family and I are coming down to DC next week for a short trip and hoping to explore the area on bikes. We have 2 children, ages 3 & 8. I am a pretty novice biker and have really only done off-road trails and my husband is comfortable on the roads. Our 3 year old is in a co-pilot with my husband and the 8 year old has done non-busy roads with my husband. I was looking into taking the Rock Creek trail up to the National Zoo from National Mall. We are staying at the InterContinental next to the White House. Here are some of my questions:

1) Should I be nervous for myself and my 8 year old riding around the streets of National Mall (from hotel to start of Rock Creek trail)?

2) Is Rock Creek trail busy during the weekday?